I Had a Dream Last Night:

The company that laid me off called me back.

I showed up for work, and everyone was outraged because there wasn’t much work for them to do either. Nobody would talk to me, and so I spent the morning in the dust collection container, digging around to break up the large chunks (no, this is not a real task).

At lunch time I went to the restroom. Someone was in one of the stalls, but she was too new to know where the light switch was, so she was in the dark. I turned on the light and went into a stall. The girl who laid me off entered the room, looked over the door of the other stall, and started up a conversation with the girl in there. Then she came to my stall and hung over the door and started talking to me, while I’m still trying to do my personal restroom business. I’m very uncomfortable with this, but I can’t really get up, and she’s not moving. I ask if there is some other task I should be working on, and if not, why was I called back in.

She says, “For the summer we’re going to send you to Kipring.”

“Where?”

“Kipring. It’s a little island down the coast.” (No, it is not a real place)

“But R. is my home.” And I start crying. I finish up my business and run out of the room, while she laughs.

Then I woke up. The clock read 3:36, and I never went back to sleep.

4 Responses to “I Had a Dream Last Night:”


  1. 1 MSeeker2 February 16, 2009 at 3:05 pm

    All I’ve got to say is that you need some good ‘medicine’ before going to bed 😉

  2. 2 ihaveasong February 16, 2009 at 6:06 pm

    Yep. That is my brother’s general advice, too.

  3. 3 SASQUATCH February 20, 2009 at 11:01 am

    Believe it or not, that was just about what I was going to suggest as well

  4. 4 Puffy February 21, 2009 at 2:16 am

    I often have “bathroom” dreams, then wake up having to “go.”


Leave a Reply

