One Step

The journey of 1000 miles begins with a single step.

Last night (August 31, 2009) I set a goal for myself: I will be employed somewhere else by the end of September, 2009, as my birthday present to myself. I am strong and intelligent, and someone out there will hire me because of that. I know I have something to offer this world, and it’s time to step up and prove it. I used to have higher expectations of myself. Why should I give those up, based on the opinions of people I don’t even like?

And by posting it here, I mean to stick to this journey of 30 days. You are all my witnesses to this journey.

Somehow last night, for a brief window of time, I was able to focus enough to hammer out a cover letter that I feel comfortable, confident, and happy about. Today, I sent that cover letter (and its accompaniments) to a company advertising for a job I know I can do. Consider this my second step. And it is just one foot in front of the other now.

1 Response to “One Step”


  1. 1 SASQUATCH September 3, 2009 at 9:58 am

    MEA CULPA! I know that I’ve been remiss in not leaving comments to your blogs, but I just checked and found that I’ve not done so for the last six (6) blogs……and I DEFINITELY read your blogs and think of you much more than my responses would indicate. This latest blog pleases me….for it seems that you are mentally kicking yourself in your rear end, actively trying to improve your situation by going after a better job rather than just remaining there in a job which is not “you” and does not offer you the challenges and satisfaction you need.

    Past blog: I feel that YOU are the one to decide what resume best describes You and your capabilities/aspirations etc., not an outside “resume expert”, not your father, but YOU!

    Past blog: Sorry to hear about your father’s cancer. Wish that I could relate, but I had a “father” who was mentally/physically abusive and non-supportive from the time I was 10 years old, and I grew up having no use for him. Yes, things between you and your parents have been possibly strained at times but I believe you are and will be a definite credit to them.

    As always, I continue to be impressed with the quality and depth of your blogs.

    Lotsa Love ‘n Stuff, as always


Leave a Reply

