Out of the Frying Pan and into… Another Frying Pan

Or, at least that was my dad’s opinion of my new job.

Yes, you may reread that sentence. Yes, I did say new job! I got the job!! They didn’t even have me go back for a second face-to-face interview or keep me in suspense for a week, as I was told would happen. They didn’t even offer me the part-time position. I start my shiny new full-time first-shift position on October 5. Or, at least that is when I start my month of training. I knew I had to be one of their top candidates.

It is not all rainbows and roses though. They offered less money than I was expecting. I believe this is because I was forced to reveal how much money I make at my soon-to-be-ex-job…and then they hacked some off the starting salary thinking that I would be willing to work for peanuts. “Peanuts” is still somewhat better than the “poppyseeds” I’ve been making. Is it enough to pay all of my bills without a second job on the side? I’ll let you know in January. I also don’t know if I’m going to love the work. It will be educational, but will it be tolerable, or will I get run down listening to people yell all day long? I’m not 100% certain that I am meant to work with people. I like working with my hands (although not when my hands are using toxic chemicals), in part because objects don’t talk back.

But at the very least I’m leaving my current frying pan.

So everybody sing with me!

“You better not try and stand in my way
As I’m walking out this door.
Take this job and shove it.
I ain’t working here no more!”

4 Responses to “Out of the Frying Pan and into… Another Frying Pan”


  1. 1 MSeeker2 September 13, 2009 at 5:39 pm

    CONGRATS!!! Though you sound a little apprehensive about this new opportunity, I hope it’s a step in the right direction for you. At least it’ll get you away from your current hell-job, right?!? I hope you can make it thru the next couple of weeks intact, but now you know there is a light at the end of the tunnel (& it’s not a train coming!). I’m happy for you – good luck w/ it…

  2. 3 Puffy September 14, 2009 at 8:37 pm

    Upon reading your previous posts, I see that you met your goal!

  3. 4 Starshine September 16, 2009 at 2:41 pm

    Congratulations!

    Something to smile about 🙂


Leave a Reply

